Welcome to Kilfinichen
Holiday homes on the Isle of Mull
Kilfinichen Estate lies on Mull’s west coast and encompasses the area of ground known as the Ardmeanach peninsular, which lies to the west of the summit of Ben More. The very western tip of the peninsular is owned by the National Trust for Scotland and was one of the first areas to be gifted to the institution in 1932, having by the shoreline a basalt fossilised tree that was formed in a lava flow some 50 million years ago.
Mull is one of the foremost destinations for nature holidays in the UK and is renowned for its dramatic landscape and abundant wildlife both on and around its shores. Along with deer, eurasian otters and golden eagles, Mull also has one of the largest populations of Sea Eagles in the UK.
In common with the rest of Mull, Kilfinichen (literal translation – Chapel of St. Fhionnchain) has been in continual human habitation from prehistoric times. It is likely that Kilfinichen was populated at least as early as the middle of the second millennium BC as it was host to one of a series of Duns, or defensive settlements, that run up the north side of Loch Scridain. The location is the centre of the Parish of Kilfinichen and takes its name from the monk St. Fhionnchain, who was a contemporary of Columba and who founded the monastery of Artchain in Tiree in 565AD. Nothing remains of the original medieval church except a small bank in the churchyard and the new church by the sea in Kilfinichen Bay which replaced it dates from the early 19th Century. The burial ground however, is still in use today.
Today, Kilfinichen Estate comprises the lands of Kilfinichen, Tiroran, Tavool, Balmeanach and Derryguaig and, in addition to some unique wildlife, is an active farm and home to both sheep and cattle